Just a little CONSerned

Common Sense & Family Matters

Canada – Losing our Freedom

smk3I could write a whole series on this subject, and in fact I may do just that in the near future. But today I’m just going to focus on one tiny little thing. Something so small one wonders why we even heard about. But it is this one tiny thing that points to a much larger and very serious problem. The Government is slowly taking away our freedoms and starting to creep into every area of our lives. A truck driver was fined $305 for smoking in his rig, and apparently it does not matter if it was a company vehicle or his own private truck. Some genius at the Windsor-Essex County Health Unit says that even a farmer out plowing his field could get a fine for smoking in his tractor. I wonder if it would be different if said farmer or trucker moon lighted as a “consultant”.

So what’s next?

We will be told it is illegal to smoke in our own homes because the cable guy might have to enter and do some work. Or, we may not light that filthy smoke out in the middle of the Ottawa River because it might offend some wildlife. Of course in Ottawa, there is so much raw waste in the water you might ignite the sewage so I suppose that could be used as a reason as well. I think Health Canada is taking things way too far in its attempt to cleanse the world of smokers. Is it reasonable for a trucker to pull over every half hour or so to jump out and light a smoke. And one even better. A farmer has to stop his tractor, climb out, and stand in his own field to have a smoke? Forget the fact he’s probably the only one that ever drives the thing.

So now the O.P.P are tasked with pulling over commercial vehicles if they suspect the occupant(s) are smoking. They have nothing better to do? Like maybe investigating crime or protecting the public, I don’t know was just a thought. We have Health Canada wasting a $$$Billion dollars, possibly through some illegal or questionable means. We have WSIB harassing injured workers, and we have iffy that wants to be the Leader of our Country but can barely manage the Liberal Party. And the O.P.P are chasing down truckers that smoke.

Only in Canada you say?

October 9, 2009, 7:11 AM - Posted by | All News

9 Comments »

  1. At my workplace they built a shelter for the smokers to stand under during their breaks when it was raining. Because it was the dead of winter they added heaters. All very well and good and much appreciated by staff but then by-law came along and found someone standing under the shelter drinking a coffee and the company was told to take it down.
    I hope that trucker fights his ticket. I’m sure other truckers would contribute to a fund. I would and I’m not only not a trucker but a reformed smoker as well.

    Like

    Comment by NeilD | October 9, 2009, 9:32 AM | Reply

  2. I recently read an article about a town in California called Belmont which has made it illegal to smoke in your home if it shares a wall, floor or ceiling with your neighbour. i.e. apartments, condos, duplexes, townhomes etc…

    Like

    Comment by Dan | October 9, 2009, 10:55 AM | Reply

    • OMG ….YOUR SO KIDDING ME…WHAT A JOKE..and Sean your so right…ONLY IN CANADA DO WE PAY OUR LAW ENFORCEMENT TO CHASE DOWN SMOKERS…IN VEHICLES…PATHETIC

      Like

      Comment by CeeA | October 9, 2009, 2:00 PM | Reply

  3. A while back , I went down to a local pub . I went by the side door and two city cops with bicycles were giving tickets to about 5 folks who were standing by the back door to have a smoke and get out of the wind and rain . A couple of weeks later a man was killed in the doorway of another bar across the back alley . 2 of these fellows saw it happen but it turns out that they remembered the local police forces goodwill program and decided that from where they saw it happen it might involve another fine for each of them .

    Like

    Comment by cantuc | October 9, 2009, 2:42 PM | Reply

  4. Thank heavens my house walls do not adjoin to any others.

    Silly thing is that here in OZ our Government collects
    70% of every ciggie that we buy. Some years back I calculated that I had already given the govt over $1 million dollars 👿 for the privilege of enjoying a
    smoke….BUT woe forbid if I get crook…I’m 65 this Dec
    so the chances of my expensive private health coverage
    doing anything to help are extremely slim if not totally
    unlikely!

    I don’t drink or do “drugs” … both cause mind altering
    states which may lead to car prangs…yet these people
    WILL get all the medical care they need!

    The only time I have heard of cigarettes causing an
    accident is when the lit end drops onto bare flesh whilst
    driving…{very painful but I managed to stop before
    having a prang :mrgreen: }

    Years ago I made a sign which is displayed on my front
    door…

    THIS IS A SMOKING HOUSE
    SHOW TOLERANCE
    OR
    YOU WILL BE ASKED TO LEAVE.

    If it gets too bad in Canada you are always welcome at
    my house 😆

    Like

    Comment by Jill from Western Australia | October 11, 2009, 4:32 AM | Reply

    • aww…jilly bean…your too sweet…there are already condos that you can’t smoke in even if you own them…I love your sign….SHOW TOLERANCE OR I’LL SHOW YOU THE DOOR..better yet…OR DON’T BOTHER COMING.. LMFAO..

      Like

      Comment by CeeA | October 11, 2009, 8:25 PM | Reply

  5. Hiya Cee A 😆

    I should have looked at my notice before typing yesterday { 😳 }…checked it this time…it actually says

    YOU ARE WELCOME TO SMOKE CIGARETTES IN THIS HOUSE

    IF YOU SHOW INTOLERANCE YOU WILL BE ASKED TO LEAVE!

    This is written inside a border of black & white squares {like police tape} with a huge lit ciggie above the wording next to which are two boxes with the “non-smoking” emblem…only instead of the cross outs {/} I changed them to two large ticks.

    Sadly it is rather faded…would make another one but I lost that programme when my old ‘puter crashed.

    I do realize that second hand smoke is bad.
    Oz has made it illegal to smoke outside any government building, I’ve forgotten how many metres you have to be from them before lighting up.
    I respect non-smoking homes & am happy to join the occupants outside…though I must admit I rarely go anywhere nowadays as I find that the thought of not being able to light up at will makes me want one even more. :mrgreen:

    I’ve lived alone since my divorce in 1987 {married for 21 years…gotta get a medal for that 🙄 }
    As a self-funded retiree the govt gives me nothing…no pension, no super…nada…zilch. I still pay huge taxes and for this privilege I will continue to smoke until the day they cart me off in a pine box {with air holes to let the smoke out 😛 }

    Next time I might tell you how I really feel…only if you ask nicely and join me for a ciggie :mrgreen:

    I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes {origin unknown}

    Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor in the morning the devil says “Oh crap, she’s up!”

    Hugs ♥♥♥

    Like

    Comment by Jill from Western Australia | October 12, 2009, 2:54 AM | Reply

  6. In the town of Bedford NS I know of a man who was charged for smoking in his car in a parking lot of a mall…. If it had of been me; I would have told the officer id be willing to put out my smoke if he would be willing to put his mouth around my tail pipe while the motor is running.. (get the point??)

    Like

    Comment by D R Brown | November 3, 2009, 6:42 AM | Reply

  7. it is stupid that they would fine the trucker for smoking in his own vehicle, we live in a democracy which means if one wants to smoke he can go right ahead, and if he wants to do it in his truck go ahead, he should not get fined for that! i mean banning smoking in some areas like gov’t buildings and stuff like that is good, but you can’t ban it in ones own vehicle, that taking away the meaning of democracy

    Like

    Comment by matt | December 16, 2009, 11:40 AM | Reply


What do you think?

