Just a little CONSerned

Common Sense & Family Matters

Dany Heatley – What’s the A stand for?

To thousands of kids across the Country, it’s a dream. To be assistant Captain of their team, and for that something they work very hard to get. They sacrifice their spare time to help the team. They show up at public skating with pals and try to help out with skating tips. They stay late after practice and talk with the Coach, waving at Mom or Dad “yeah just a minute, please”. They stay up late on school nights watching hockey and soaking up everything they see like a sponge, because what better way to learn than from the pros, right? So Dany, what are you teaching them? That it’s okay to go back on your word when things don’t go your way? That you are more important than the team?

Their parents are trying to teach the kids things like Honor, Respect, and Loyalty, and if you’re going to play hockey then you have to listen to the Coach. And they are playing for free. Just because they love the game. You on the other hand are getting paid ALOT of money, to play hockey. So I think people have a point when they say “shut up and do what you are told”. You are after all, a paid employee. I’m not saying that you are not entitled to do what is best for you and your family, that is your right. And you must do what is best for you.

However, to turn your back on your team and your fans because you are not happy with the Coach moving you, is childish. He is just doing HIS job. And if you had scored 50 goals last season more than likely this wouldn’t have happened. So put up Dany, or shut up. You’ve let a lot of people down, last season, and the off season. What’s the A stand for anyways to you? Is it A-Typical? Or A-Hole? Training camp is fast approaching and Ottawa deserves better than a player holding a trade over it’s head so close to the season. Do we get A-answer?

August 31, 2009, 11:59 PM - Posted by | All News

13 Comments »

  1. What’s with a bunch of spoiled brats in the NHL who think THEY call all the shots at their job? Sounds exactly like what Chris Pronger did to the Oilers. There’s a lot of hockey talent out there, maybe these high mighty guys need to be fired on the spot and lose their big bucks to learn some lessons.

    I hear ya Beast~

    Like

    Comment by Pattycake07 | September 1, 2009, 10:11 AM | Reply

  2. Beast I just finished reading a great book about Hockey.

    Seahawk: Confessions Of An Old Goalie by Bruce Valley.

    What a read, great book for every young boy. They will learn about guts, honor, team work, comaraderie, and heart. SOME men have a a lot of self respect and principles. Not all like D.H.

    The author is a very nice, interesting terrific gutsy guy. I have known him for years. Restores cars, has a very successful company, was a Test Pilot, Writer, Poet, etc.

    Like

    Comment by Heart | September 1, 2009, 9:09 PM | Reply

  3. As you can tell by my screen name, I’m not much of a hockey fan. Baseball is my ‘true sports love’. However, we see this kind of behavior and attitude all too often with professional sports players. They’re blessed with the talent, but not blessed with enough brains to stop acting like whiny spoiled brats.

    It’s this behavior that is turning me off to professional sports entirely. The last few years I’ve enjoyed the minor league, or non professional sports where true sportsmanship is often displayed more so than with these highly paid professionals.

    (sorry to my Canadian friends, being from Chicago, I just don’t get that into Hockey, not even for the Hawks. 😉 )

    Like

    Comment by Cubby | September 2, 2009, 9:50 AM | Reply

    • That’s ok, I think baseball is a complete waste of time. Or a great place to have a nap 😛

      Like

      Comment by Beast | September 2, 2009, 9:59 AM | Reply

      • LOL! If you can sleep sitting up with lots of noise! 😉 Watching from home, I can understand napping much easier.

        Like

        Comment by Cubby | September 2, 2009, 4:25 PM | Reply

  4. Cubby,

    My friend the writer, taught me about Hockey long before his book. He told me to turn off the sound and look at a Hockey game. Very graceful, almost ballet like.

    He told me I would be SHOCKED at some of the discussions back in the locker rooms. About Writers, Opera, Art. Many people think because of some aspects of it, they are crude, and wild. Not so off the rink. He recently retired his skates, in his 60’s. Was playing against men in their 20’s. Always, the Goalie.

    I learned of animal aspects too, like staring down the oncoming opponent. I forget how fast those pucks would fly… 90 miles an hour? I do forget. Maybe more. Fascinating explanation/read Seahawk. Great for any boy to read – experience.

    He was 3, and used to look out his apartment window, watching the game below, the men who just returned from WW II. (Picture of the apartment and their “rink” below). He used to pray to God to let him play that when he grew up. There was only radio back then, no TV, computer games, etc. The men rigged lights up, and built a fence around it. His Dad would sometimes bundle him up and take him down there to a game. When he was 14, he became their Goalie. Since all “equipment” was home made, he really took some hits and got injured – badly. STILL loved that game. There is a lovely poetic picture of him on the ice, (a teen), by himself, by moonlight… a side of Hockey and males, that I had never known. There IS something to this “male bonding” I learned. Nice thing. I think children who play sports, provided they have good Leadership, learn lots of life lessons. Same with my music too, I have observed.

    Forgot to mention he was a Band Leader too, at age 17. Played trumpet and became good friend with Maynard Furgeson, FANTASTIC trumpet player, who was from Canada.

    Like

    Comment by Heart | September 2, 2009, 4:38 PM | Reply

    • I understand Heart,

      Even though we are from Chi town, my cousin and Uncle played hockey. My cousin was on skates at 2, on a team at 4. Played in “Skokie” which is ‘the hockey capital” in the Chi town area. My cousin was invited to play in Canada, he did so well, but sadly he lost interest when he saw how rough the game started getting in Junior High, High School. A friend and team mate was slammed in the face with a puck and one of those, odds aren’t of an accident of this type but it happened, and he just had to walk away from the game.

      My son is not at all interested in Baseball…. He is into Tae Kwando right now, and he loves to rough house. He doesn’t want to kick so much as he wants punch ( and boy does he hit hard when I say it is ok) to arm wrestle, or ‘wrestle’. My son would be a great wrestler, and back in the day we thought wrestling was just dorky. At least the crowd I ran with- the muscle car greaser crowd. An unusual crowd for someone in HS in the 80’s. And boy did we have a blast!

      I’m just happy my son is into tae kwando as I don’t want to be a soccer mom.

      About all I know about Hockey, is Stan Makita…. and Bobby and Bruce Hull. and they are about as old as Ernie Banks. 😉

      Like

      Comment by Cubby | September 3, 2009, 12:11 AM | Reply

      • Hi Cub,

        I think it’s terrific that you son takes Tae Kwando. Great discipline, healthy, etc. Good!!

        Was that poor kid a Goalie? They sure do get it, the Goalies. But with today’s equipment, hopefully it is safer. Poor kid. I don’t blame him for quitting, I would too. That’s what I meant, if a Pro is getting who knows what $10,000. a game (I don’t know what they get), but darned if I would do it again for *NOTHING?* if I were that kid. Good move!!

        Actually shhhh I loved tennis when I was young. :mrgreen: My husband was a life long tennis player till he fell in his 60’s on the court, and injured his back and ankle. He has great cardio system because of that. If he hadn’t done that, might not be here.

        Going way back, I remember my son started football. Broke his finger the first week. I said “THAT’S IT!” He quit.

        Like

        Comment by Heart | September 3, 2009, 12:44 AM | Reply

  5. IF pros get hurt, well that’s part of the price of their career. They will have enough money to live.

    If a child gets hurts doing sports, that is so sad to me. Some have had very serious permanent injuries. Those kids are pretty terrific, out there, giving 2000% … and NOT for money.

    Like

    Comment by Heart | September 2, 2009, 4:52 PM | Reply

    • Not always, there are a few professional sports players listed on the state ‘dead beat dad’ sites for owing more than 200,000 in child support. Poor analogy, and I HATE the term dead beat dad, in these cases they should be called, ‘get an accountant or financial adviser’ dads. But they exist.

      Like

      Comment by Cubby | September 3, 2009, 12:12 AM | Reply

      • the dbd term is appropriate in some cases. I know first hand where “some” dads will lie and try to hide income trying to avoid paying support. EVEN when it is already lower than normal.

        Like

        Comment by Beast | September 3, 2009, 12:26 AM | Reply

  6. Really though whats that have to do with the heater being an A-hole? 😛

    Like

    Comment by Beast | September 3, 2009, 12:28 AM | Reply

    • and I am thinking A-Rod… lol, baseball. 😉

      If nothing else, I will learn what to ‘yell’ in the stands of a hockey game. 😉

      Like

      Comment by Cubby | September 3, 2009, 1:27 AM | Reply


What do you think?

