Just a little CONSerned

Common Sense & Family Matters

Pedophilia: Mental Illness or not?

Having sex with a child is considered by most to be a sick and twisted behavior. The very thought of such a vile activity can invoke extreme feelings of anger and disgust in people, only to be compounded by the weak and very small punishments sometimes assigned to the people convicted of it. There has been much research done on this “disorder”, but still psychologists are no closer to a cure. They don’t know the cause, and in my mind that would have to come first to obtain a cure.

Is a person who faces multiple failures in relationships more prone to such behavior? Does a person who lacks assertion in their personality create the motive to feel powerful, and assert their dominance on the weak and vulnerable? Is it a chemical imbalance that is present that interferes with normal development? Or is it just Society’s way of coping with it.

Robbing a bank, murder, and assault are all crimes that involve some form of dominance. There is a goal, a need, and involves varying degrees of violence. Though the sexual aspect is not prevalent in these crimes, it must be noted that some have expressed that the activity and resulting rush “was better than sex”. But a bank robber is not considered mentally ill just because of the crime. Yet a person that sexually abuses a child or minor “must” be mentally ill, for we do not consider that act possible for a sane person.

Again, is that Society trying to rationalize it?

Not guilty by reason of insanity is a defense commonly used in court to defend against a heinous crime. Though the person can never have displayed any signs of it before, all of a sudden they are ill. And we are asked to believe that. Something in the human mind snapped, they are not responsible for their actions as a result. Hogwash. Killing your spouses lover in a fit of anger is not insanity, it’s rage. Anger is a normal human emotion, some people can control it better than others. Just as there are differences in how people handle financial difficulties. Some get a second job or retraining to better themselves and demand a higher salary. Some rob banks. Why some choose the latter does not mean some type of mental illness is involved.

Scientists and psychologists have been studying this issue for a long time, but are still no closer to determining the cause, or developing a cure. Yet knowing that fact convicted pedophiles are still treated by the courts as victims, and sentenced accordingly. Would you consider Pedophilia as a sexual orientation, like homosexuality? Believe it or not this guy does.

Once convicted part of the “punishment” is that the convicted pedophile may not reside within 1000-2000 feet of a school or daycare. Distances may vary from state to state. And they are all just as ludicrous as the next. How is that possibly going to stop it from happening again? Most likely they did not live that close in the first place. On-line luring of child is predominant in many cases, and we have seen shows where the potential perps show up to meet a supposed child for sex, only to meet the police or TV cameras.

Those caught in that situation should be facing prison time, just as a bank robber getting caught with a gun entering a bank would be. That the “crime” was not committed should have no bearing, the intent was there. The Charter of Rights is there to protect individuals from criminal or social wrongs. It is not there as a means of defense. Once a crime has been committed, or the attempt was there, the same rights enjoyed by the rest of Society should not apply.

There is no question that mental illness exists and is a very serious problem for many. And there is also no doubt that people suffering from various forms of this disease need help. But this should not involve putting the rest of Society at risk.

This is a case of a mentally ill person committing a crime, and the resulting punishment is actually a treatment. Society will benefit from this, as will the individual. Releasing a convicted pedophile back into Society is not the same thing.

So why are they treated that way?

Please take the time to convince our Governments to change how these criminals are handled, and better protect our young. How many more children have to be raped or murdered before we stop tolerating this behavior?

Sign this petition


June 21, 2009, 12:03 PM - Posted by | All News

50 Comments »

  1. Excellent article Sean..I agree with all the comments.
    If the stupid laws says you must let them out after their first offence then…

    TATTOO “CHIMO” ON THEIR FOREHEADS!

    Well it would work wouldn’t it?

    Like

    Comment by Jill from Western Australia | June 23, 2009, 4:20 AM | Reply

    • Jilly – AMEN SISTER! What a great idea! Might be a great way to make them THINK before they act if they knew they were going to get a big CHIMO tattoo on their forehead. And it sure would make it easier to know who to avoid and be fearful of! JILLY FOR PRESIDENT! (Hope you don’t mind moving to the States! LOL)

      Like

      Comment by Julesb65 aka BOOGERS | June 23, 2009, 12:01 PM | Reply

      • Oooooh Jules what a scary thought…hmmm…welllll…at least I would rule with an “iron fist” … no “fence sitting” waiting to see which side wins in Iran … nope!!!! … The good ol’ U.S of A wouldn’t know what had hit it if I had my way … mandatory life with hard labor for all chimos … and tax cuts for all citizens … 😳 better not get me started :mrgreen:

        Like

        Comment by Jill from Western Australia | June 24, 2009, 8:37 AM | Reply

        • Sister, if I had my way, you’d have the job! I like the way you think! Obama is spending the future of the next 5 generations on his pet projects and bailing out the corporations (got to make sure they get their $1 million dollar bonuses using my tax dollars). But hey, I did get a $7 pay increase out of the deal…uh, that’s $7 every two weeks…..WHOOOPPPIIEEEE! And SOMEONE needs to take a firm stand against Iran and N. Korea before they both blow all of us off the face of the earth!

          Like

          Comment by Julesb65 aka BOOGERS | June 24, 2009, 9:18 AM | Reply

  2. Are these pigs put in General Population when they DO go to jail? Maybe we could work on that.

    I suppose if they hid Tori’s body well enough, and it wasn’t discovered for months like Caylee’s, we would never know if she was molested.

    They are always working on perfecting their life’s work. If ONLY their energies were put to some productive use.

    Like

    Comment by Heart | June 23, 2009, 11:20 AM | Reply

    • Good question Heart…I certainly hope so…at least then the repercussions would save the tax payer a few $$$’s.

      Some countries have barbaric laws…but then the guilty do not live to offend again.

      Some countries {like ours} are soooo politically correct that offenders often only get a slap on the wrist.

      There has to be some “middle ground”… something MUST be done to deter the sex offenders…its getting almost impossible to protect our children!

      Hope everyone is well over your side of the pond…hugs for now ♥♥♥

      Like

      Comment by Jill from Western Australia | June 24, 2009, 8:50 AM | Reply

  3. My name is Keith Smith. I was abducted, beaten and raped by a stranger. It wasn’t a neighbor, a coach, a relative, a family friend or teacher. It was a recidivist pedophile predator who spent time in prison for previous sex crimes; an animal hunting for victims in the quiet suburbs of Lincoln, Rhode Island.

    I was able to identify the guy and the car he was driving. He was arrested and indicted but never went to trial. His trial never took place because he was brutally beaten to death in Providence before his court date. 34 years later, no one has ever been charged with the crime.

    In the time between the night of my assault and the night he was murdered, I lived in fear. I was afraid he was still around town. Afraid he was looking for me. Afraid he would track me down and kill me. The fear didn’t go away when he was murdered. Although he was no longer a threat, the simple life and innocence of a 14-year-old boy was gone forever. Carefree childhood thoughts replaced with the unrelenting realization that my world wasn’t a safe place. My peace shattered by a horrific criminal act of sexual violence.

    Over the past 34 years, I’ve been haunted by horrible, recurring memories of what he did to me. He visits me in my sleep. There have been dreams–nightmares actually–dozens of them, sweat inducing, yelling-in-my-sleep nightmares filled with images and emotions as real as they were when it actually happened. It doesn’t get easier over time. Long dead, he still visits me, silently sneaking up from out of nowhere when I least expect it. From the grave, he sits by my side on the couch every time the evening news reports a child abduction or sex crime. I don’t watch America’s Most Wanted or Law and Order SVU, because the stories are a catalyst, triggering long suppressed emotions, feelings, memories, fear and horror. Real life horror stories rip painful suppressed memories out from where they hide, from that recessed place in my brain that stores dark, dangerous, horrible memories. It happened when William Bonin confessed to abducting, raping and murdering 14 boys in California; when Jesse Timmendequas raped and murdered Megan Kanka in New Jersey; when Ben Ownby, missing for four days, and Shawn Hornbeck, missing for four years, were recovered in Missouri.

    Despite what happened that night and the constant reminders that continue to haunt me years later, I wouldn’t change what happened. The animal that attacked me was a serial predator, a violent pedophile trolling my neighborhood in Lincoln, Rhode Island looking for young boys. He beat me, raped me, and I stayed alive. I lived to see him arrested, indicted and murdered. It might not have turned out this way if he had grabbed one of my friends or another kid from my neighborhood. Perhaps he’d still be alive. Perhaps there would be dozens of more victims and perhaps he would have progressed to the point of silencing his victims by murdering them.

    Out of fear, shame and guilt, I’ve been silent for over three decades, not sharing with anyone the story of what happened to me. No more. The silence has to end. What happened to me wasn’t my fault. The fear, the shame, the guilt have to go. It’s time to stop keeping this secret from the people closest to me, people I care about, people I love, my long-time friends and my family. It’s time to speak out to raise public awareness of male sexual assault, to let other survivors know that they’re not alone and to help survivors of rape and violent crime understand that the emotion, fear and memories that may still haunt them are not uncommon to those of us who have shared a similar experience.

    My novel, Men in My Town, was inspired by these actual events.

    For those who suffer in silence, I hope my story brings some comfort, strength, peace and hope.

    This post has been edited by the Moderator, all links have been removed.

    Like

    Comment by Keith Smith | June 24, 2009, 3:21 PM | Reply

    • Wow Keith thank you for sharing your story with us!It is sad to think that justice still isn’t being served for children everywhere now. Hopefully with enough voices we can change all that.

      Like

      Comment by Butters | June 24, 2009, 7:26 PM | Reply

      • Yes thank you Keith for sharing. It takes a lot of bravery to overcome such a crime. I wish you the best in the future!

        Like

        Comment by Beth | June 24, 2009, 7:39 PM | Reply

    • FWIW, this might be an unpopular view, but my hinky meter is up on this Keith Smith person who posted a comment with Seans latest article about pedophilia and mental illness.

      Does it strike anyone else as odd that he is plugging a book yet, in all that he wrote in the comment section he never mentions the name of the man who violated him, despite that man being long dead? Nor did he add the names of any other victims that might have been in the news?

      I mention this, because awhile back at Websleuths we had a guy who claimed to witness his step father, Dolph Ames murder several hitchhikers when Dalles. S. McKinsey the author of Childhood lost was about 8. While several WS’rs helped search missing persons as well as UID’s in the California area where this allegedly happened. All of Dalles info was fake… he was just plugging a book, until he couldn’t come up with any further lies and faked his death by suicide online last November. (then threatened to sue WS because he was ‘outed’ for posting online a few days later.)

      I’m just hesitant with lack of details this Keith guy posted. I’ve seen enough ‘hoaxes’ with people preying on victims of the missing, and those with family members who have been murdered, at WS to have the hinky meter raised on this one. (Between Dalles, and the old Delia Cly case- when she faked being a kidnapped child when the old Sharon Marshall thread was booming.)

      I’d be happy to apologize if I am wrong, but like I said, even with the breif search I did after reading his post, I saw nothing naming the alleged pedo. And the details were extremely breif.

      Even when I follwoing and speaking with the detective working on the Barbara Gluckert case, missing from IL, 1976, she was a minor, and the dead perps name is published in hundreds of news archives.

      Who hides a dead perps name, if the story is real?
      jmo

      Cubby

      Like

      Comment by Cubby | June 25, 2009, 11:47 PM | Reply

      • Forgot to add. Both the stories of Dalles S. McKinsey ( thread since removed at WS) and Delia Cly (thread also since removed, but google has a little info about her) really hurt a lot of very caring hard working people who not only offered a lot of support, but spent hours and hours on both ‘cases’ which took a life of their own for some time. IIRC, Dalles was over a year, and Delia was before my time at WS- so I don’t know how long the ‘case’ lasted before being proven a hoax.

        IF Keiths story is real, I would like to see some news articles from valid sources.

        Again, if I am wrong will apologize.

        Cubby

        Like

        Comment by Cubby | June 25, 2009, 11:51 PM | Reply

      • I know this is old… but Dalles Is back around lurking in many places. I think his fake book failed but he still is trying some scam. I”m watching… can’t believe this guy coming back, using his REAL name again attempting some new scam. Are him and TUMA bedhell sleeping together ? Sheesh

        Like

        Comment by Patty Pattycake | June 20, 2011, 11:34 PM | Reply

  4. Keith I will buy your book next week.

    I hope you have the loving arms of some woman who can comfort you when you have these horrific nightmares, reliving the hell you went thru.

    Karma caught up to him … brutaly beaten to death. I wonder who did that … maybe a boy that grew up, maybe a father, an uncle. Sweet poetic justice.

    Thank you for finding us. We are a new, strong, nice group of people who care about children – all children, and try as HARD as we can to help them!

    Thank you Keith for writing your book, and getting this information OUT THERE. I have a Professor friend that lives in R.I. I will tell him to get the book too.

    Best wishes, and good luck with your life! If the above is a sample of your writing, it has to be a great book! I think all of us should buy your book not only to learn from it, but to help support you in your effort.

    Remember THAT which doesn’t kill us, only makes us STRONGER!!! xxx

    Like

    Comment by Heart | June 24, 2009, 11:04 PM | Reply

  5. Keith thank you so much for sharing your story. I am so sorry you had to go thru that. May God always bless you. He has made you stronger. I will buy you book and share it with others. Perhaps there is some hope out there. Bless you

    Like

    Comment by Lockwood | June 25, 2009, 6:47 AM | Reply

  6. I wonder if there are any good studies about how many pedophiles were abused themselves when small?

    I AM NOT – **NOT** MAKING EXCUSES FOR THESE PIGS … I am just wondering if that enters into the mix? Trying to figure out how to fix/stop this!!!

    Too, I am wondering if this topic shouldn’t be sensitively brought up in school?
    Maybe good touch, bad touch – think I read about that. IF discovered early, maybe therapy could save them, and possibly STOP another generation of abusers??? I know of one child who heard something on the TV about sexual abuse, and turned to her mother and said “That’s what Daddy does to me.” They were divorced and she went to his house – alone.

    Like

    Comment by Heart | July 27, 2009, 11:01 PM | Reply

  7. SIMPLE PLEASURES

    So glad my son’s new adopted dog, Annie, ( whippet mix) has a GPS in her!!! YEAAA Annie! Because she is part whippet, she loves to run!

    They have had her 6 weeks.The other day she got out of her collar (loves to do that and run), and she stood there, not quite knowing “AM I FREE? OR NOT?? Moved and realize she was LOOSE and TOOK OFF – like the wind!!

    Young , long thin, rust colored body. They bought her a VEST because they live on a lake. Ha ha they said because she is thin and rust colored, she looks like a hotdog in a roll when in the water!! ROFL.

    Like

    Comment by Heart | August 25, 2009, 11:03 PM | Reply

  8. is not mental illness !!!! its jus orention like rest gay people, if homosexuality is not an illness than pedophelia is not too.

    Like

    Comment by Normal | November 19, 2009, 5:00 PM | Reply


What do you think?

