Just a little CONSerned

Common Sense & Family Matters

What is a Society to do?

When did it start exactly. This trend away from family values and honest hard working ethics? Was it when political correctness became an everyday worry? Was it when religion was removed from schools? Or maybe when the government stepped in a how parents can discipline their children. I suppose you could make an argument for each instance, or maybe a result of all three. One thing is for sure, things have changed. Children today are maturing far faster than the previous generation. No need to be a parent to see that happening. But not only that. They are growing up differently. They do not have respect. And I know all teens can be lazy, but there is a never ending battle do have anything done when it is suppsoed to. Forget about it being done right the first time. No respect, for themselves or others.

There also seems to be an element of enttitlement afoot. Apparently they deserve everything without having to earn it. Just because. Parents are no longer the symbol of love and life lessons. We are now the source of punishment and limits. The enemy. I suppose that is what happens when early behaviour cannot be corrected firmly. There is a difference between abuse, and discipline. As a child I disobeyed my parents and played on a farm tractor, during which I accidentally started it. Scared me to death. After my mother finally managed to shut it off I was treated to a very firm introduction to my fathers belt. I never touched a tractor again unless I had permission. Go figure.

Swarming, bullying, beatings, robberies, all of these  more frequent today among teens. I’m 44 and cannot remember one single time there was a swarming at any of the schools I attended. Not one. Why? Double income homes and parents not watching as they should? Or more likely they cannot afford to. Young offenders act? Too much emphasis put on youth rights? Aside from health and safety, children (18-) should not have any rights. Food and shelter are rights, anything else is a privilege. 16 years  old too young to drive.

Children are given too many breaks. The panzy wanzy Liberal bleeding hearts have done it again.

April 6, 2009, 10:41 PM - Posted by | All News

3 Comments »

  1. I enjoyed this article Sean. It sounds a lot like what my husband and I discuss.

    There’s no accountability today. Years ago, not unlike yourself, if we were caught doing something we should not be doing, the neighbour could drag your butt home by your ears and you’d get it but good. My grandfather, who took part in raising me, only had to speak once. Even then, it may have been just a very firm HEY, ENOUGH!

    I stay at home with my kids. While we’re in Texas, we felt it important to keep them on the Canadian curriculum. Only because we expect to return there. But I’ve always stayed home with my kids. There were sacrifices and things we couldn’t do years ago, but the pay off in the investment in their lives is immesurable. Our daughter graduated with honours and is an amazing adult contributing to society far more than she takes from it. If that’s the measure of our success, then our other two will follow in the same footsteps.

    We had a pool party with a bunch of girl scouts last weekend. The troop leader told us similar things, how some of these girls have maids, no chores and have lunch brought to them by their mother every day. What happens to these girls when they head out into the real world? They cannot cook, cannot do laundry and have no idea how to use a vacuum cleaner. Sorry, not in my home. While we’re financial secure enough to now have a maid, it will be a cold day in ‘you know what’ before that would ever happen. Children need discipline, responsibilities and limits to become successful accountable productive adults.

    Children are given far too many breaks, the young offenders act in Canada is a joke.

    Sorry for my lengthy comment, your article is just that inspiring. 🙂 & REFRESHING to see.

    Like

    Comment by pattycake07 | May 14, 2009, 8:03 PM | Reply

    • Tnx patty, Society is so screwed up trying to help kids they are doing more harm. For 100’s of years children were brought up under strict guidance and harsher rules, and I suppose it is because of the child abuse and other violence that occurred that Society went to far the other way. How long will it take for the pendulum to swing back and find a happy medium?

      Like

      Comment by Sean McAllister | May 14, 2009, 8:31 PM | Reply

  2. Gosh, thought I edited this article. I meant to correct it slightly. I stay at home and homeschool my children. That might make more sense now. lol

    Like

    Comment by pattycake07 | May 14, 2009, 8:06 PM | Reply


What do you think?

