Just a little CONSerned

Common Sense & Family Matters

FOX apology not enough

I know some of my fellow bloggers feel that too much is being made of that video by Greg Gutfield on Fox News Red Eye. They feel that we are above being insulted or that the comments were made in a light hearted manner. I’m sorry but I disagree.
I have looked for a similar video but I can not find one insulting the american troops made by Canadian comics, or newscasters. There isn’t one, that I can find. It was in very poor taste and insensitive especially as 4 more Canadian soldiers have died while fighting side by side our American counter parts. The apology offered by Mr. Gutfield was written, and I feel it should be offered the same way the insult was, on air. but that’s just me.

March 24, 2009, 9:35 AM - Posted by | All News

9 Comments »

  1. I’m also questioning the sincerity of that apology, because I can’t find any mention of it on Fox News’ own website.

    Like

    Comment by PhantomObserver | March 24, 2009, 11:42 AM | Reply

  2. Wow an American comedy show that is on at 3:00am made fun of our military. That’s bad eh because you know the host’s opinion has such weight in the US no wait the Universe. What to do? Here is a suggestion I think we as Canadian’s need lighten up and get over ourselves. Who cares what this jack ass says.

    Like

    Comment by Geoff | March 24, 2009, 1:43 PM | Reply

  3. Geoff, maybe the families of our dead soldiers care. Maybe some take their citizenship very seriously, and have Pride in our Flag. Some things just are in bad taste.

    Like

    Comment by Sean McAllister | March 24, 2009, 1:46 PM | Reply

  4. Sean, Oh man you got me there. I welled up. First of all he did not mention Canadian soldiers he was making fun of the equipment and the size of the military. So what. If a comic in Norway did the same thing we A) wouldn’t care, B) would hear about it. It was a segment aimed at American insomniacs and if the gotcha guys at hadn’t posted it the families of our dead soldiers wouldn’t have seen it.

    I am a proud Canadian but I don’t like the flag I prefer the Red Ensign. I am so proud that I couldn’t give crap what a comic in the US has to say about my country because does he or what he says really matter. I suggest some of my fellow Canadians quit fixating of what is said out our country in the USA. I mean really it is front page news if Toronto is going to be featured in an episode of The Simpsons for crying out loud.

    Like

    Comment by Geoff | March 24, 2009, 2:24 PM | Reply

  5. There is a fine line between ridiculing a country and its support of its own military and ridiculing a country’s military.

    Geoff, you are wrong: Gutfield clearly ridiculed our soldiers, even making fun of General Leslie’s name as being too girly for a real soldier and claiming it was the soldiers who needed their pedicures and spa days.

    I don’t see how that is defensible and in all the idiocy and hypocrisy on the left I frankly have not seen any actually ridicule the US soldiers. I am really quite surprised how many have been so vociferous in Gutfield’s defence.

    Like

    Comment by Ted | March 24, 2009, 3:01 PM | Reply

  6. Ted, again so what. I am not defending Gutfield I am making fun of the people who take him seriously like you

    Like

    Comment by Geoff | March 24, 2009, 3:04 PM | Reply

  7. Geoff:

    I don’t take him seriously. I find what he said offensive but that doesn’t mean the world is collapsing or it is even so important for me to write a letter to the CRTC to ban Fox.

    But you seem to be going out of your way to defend this moron, even making things up about what he said to make it seem inoffensive (“he did not mention Canadian soldiers”). That I just don’t get.

    As usual with these types of things, a minor offensive comment from a nobody gets blown out of proportion to its importance and then blown way out of proportion because so many feel they have to defend him. This would have died online if there weren’t so many conservatives saying Gutfield’s comments were OK.

    Like

    Comment by Ted | March 24, 2009, 3:11 PM | Reply

  8. I AM(a thin skinned)CANADIAN!

    This thing has become ridiculous, but like everything else that outrages Canadians it will soon be forgotten. I’m sure a new outrage is just around the corner.

    Like

    Comment by Andrew | March 24, 2009, 3:18 PM | Reply

  9. Well I guess you do take him seriously otherwise you wouldn’t be offended or care what he said. I didn’t make up anything he didn’t say anything bad about our soldiers he was making fun of our military. The pedicure crack and the Generals name, really? that is what you are incensed about? This whole thing makes Canadians look like a people that want the government to pay for pedicures and have girly names. Got to go,enjoy your day Ted

    Like

    Comment by Geoff | March 24, 2009, 3:39 PM | Reply


What do you think?

