Just a little CONSerned

Common Sense & Family Matters

Healthcare in Ontario

I wont get into my past health issues and WSIB problems because I don’t really think it is relevant to this, but you can search the blog for more stories. I recently (8 weeks ago) developed what I thought was a knot in my right shoulder. After vigorous shoulder rolls, exercise and massage did nothing to help and the pain kept getting worse I made an appointment to see my doctor. In the week it took before I could get into to see her the pain moved from my shoulder to my arm, elbow, wrist, and fingers. So it was apparent this was not just a simple knot. A CT scan was recommended and I got a call a few days later for a spot the following week. SO now with increasing discomfort and pain the waiting begins. During the scan I was barely able to lay flat on my back and moaned during the entire thing prompting the poor girl to ask what I did and if I was okay. I responded I had no idea what I did and most certainly I had felt better.

Two weeks later I get a call from the Doctors office and told it is some type of “bone spurs” in my neck C4, C5, C6, C7 pinching a nerve in my neck and surgery will be needed. Before that can happen an MRI is needed and now have learned that wont happen till May 15th. Who knows after that how long till the actual surgery. Is almost 3 months acceptable to get treatment for this? This is not an “elective” procedure, I”m talking about non stop pain 24/7. The kind of pain that makes you cry and rock back and forth occasionally. Not fun. And I dont think this is right.

March 12, 2013, 6:44 PM - Posted by | All News | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Just a shot in the dark here, but what about acupuncture. Sounds ghastly your pain. I suppose you don’t have the money to get yourself treated in the U.S. tout de suite. I agree this is unacceptable. I have been watching the reruns on PBS of Call the Midwife and the wonders of the National Health Service. Unfortunately there are long waiting lists in Britain for all sorts of procedures these days.

    Comment by Nicola Timmerman | March 13, 2013, 7:00 AM | Reply

    • I had acupuncture before they operated on the herniated disc in my lower back. Felt good during the procedure but not long lasting relief.

      Comment by Beast | March 13, 2013, 9:21 AM | Reply

  2. a friend of mine waited a year for shoulder surgery and then four months for rehab. he could not work and his company had to hire someone to do his job on a temporary basis. he was on ltd. all in all the cost to the medical care system and the business was unnecessarily high.

    Comment by old white guy | March 13, 2013, 8:49 AM | Reply

    • I wonder if this is another mess we can credit the Liberals with.

      Comment by Beast | March 13, 2013, 9:23 AM | Reply

  3. Ive been dealing with pain for so long now I dont remember what its like to not be in pain. Now with this pinched nerve in my neck I cant even move without making it worse. And its already intolerable. My wife is so sick of dealing with it I wouldnt blame her to leave or have an affair. Maybe just because we have kids together she sticks around. Sometimes love isnt enough. Every day the first thing I feel is pain and it takes hours before the pills help enough to stop crying and weeping like a child. Nice life. Is this the quality of life worth living? I hardly think so, and if I was plugged into something keeping me alive Id say yank it out. Ive really had enough.

    Comment by Beast | March 23, 2013, 11:20 AM | Reply

  4. Just figured Id update the situation concerning this. It’s all better! After about 2 weeks of dealing with that pain it just went away. Go figure.

    Comment by Beast | May 29, 2013, 4:44 PM | Reply


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

